Back to top

Peer Learning

Communities of Practice & Working Groups 

Philanthropy Network convenes a number of Communities of Practice (formerly Affinity Groups) and Working Groups as a means for members to come together around areas of common interest. Groups have formed to consider specific issues or geographic areas, as well as to share best practices with their peers.

We are currently updating our group pages in order to help you better connect and share information with other Network members with like interests. If you would like to suggest content or resources that would be helpful to you and your peers, please contact Shira Hodges.

Communities of Practice

Interest/Issue Area

  • ARTS & CULTURE FUNDERS | Leadership: Allison Vanyur, Greater Philadelphia Cultural Alliance; Teresa Araco-Rogers, harp-weaver llc/Presser Foundation
  • EDUCATION FUNDERS | Leadership: (currently vacant)
  • FOOD FUNDERS  | Leadership: Rachel Costello, Pierce Family Foundation; Robin Rifkin, Meeting Intentions; Daphne Rowe, Pembroke Philanthropy Advisors; Brian Gralnick, Jewish Federation of Greater Philadelphia
  • OUT-OF-SCHOOL-TIME (OST) FUNDERS | Leadership: Jen Danifo, Pennsylvania Humanities Council; Ann Marie Horner, Horner Family Foundation
  • PLACE-BASED FUNDERS | Leadership:  Andrew Firshkoff, LISC Philadelphia


  • CORPORATE ROUNDTABLE | Leadership: Lorina Marshall-Blake, Independence Blue Cross Foundation; Debbie O’Brien, Bank of America Foundation
  • SMALL FUNDERS | Leadership: Jennifer Leith, The Douty Foundation; Jenny Snyder, The Nelson Foundation


  • CHESTER COUNTY FUNDERS | Leadership: Beth Harper Briglia, Chester County Community Foundation; Vanessa Briggs, Brandywine Health Foundation; Michelle Legaspi Sanchez, Chester County Fund for Women & Girls
  • DELAWARE COUNTY FUNDERS |  Leadership: Jennifer Bohnenberger, Independence Foundation; Frances Sheehan, The Foundation for Delaware County
  • MONTGOMERY COUNTY FUNDERS | Leadership: Diana Doherty, VNA Foundation of Greater North Penn; Russell Johnson, HealthSpark Foundation

Working Groups

  • MISSION-ALIGNED INVESTING | Leadership: James Johnson-Piett, The Merchants Fund; Elizabeth Killough, Untours Foundation; Kristina Wahl, Barra Foundation
  • WORKFORCE | Leadership:  Alysea McDonald, Citizens Bank